Liquor Licensing

Process


  • Applications are submitted to the Town Clerk. 
  • After local approval, they are submitted to the State.
  • Once State approval is obtained, the Town Clerk will issue the license.
  • If you require an appointment or have questions, please Email us.

Mail complete application, attachments and local and State fees to:
Castle Rock Town Clerk
Attn: Lisa Anderson
100 N. Wilcox St.
Castle Rock, CO  80104

Local Fees can be paid online by clicking on this iconPay Online Logo2

  Please see tabs below for specific applications, information, and fees.
  
APPROVALS

Hearings:  New licenses, Change of Location, and Show Cause hearings are presided over by the Hearing Officer who is a licensed attorney and is appointed by Town Council.

Administrative Approval:  Transfers, Changes, Special Event Liquor Permits, and Tastings

State-Only Approval:  Importer, Manufacturer, Wholesaler


Liquor law
It is a licensee's responsibility to be in compliance - refer to the State website for any updates to liquor laws, rules and regulations.  Violations or failure to report changes can result in fines, suspension or revocation.
  
Compliance checks
Compliance checks and inspections are performed by the Colorado Department of Revenue.

Liquor License Forms

State Department of Revenue Liquor and Tobacco Enforcement Division

New Liquor License

Process:

  • The process generally takes two to three months.

  • Applications are submitted to the Town Clerk.

  • A hearing will be set at least 30 days after a complete application has been submitted.

  • Applicant must file a Petition showing needs and desires of neighborhood (see below)

  • The Town will post the hearing notice at the location and in the newspaper.

  • Local approval will be sent to the State, and once the State approval and a certificate of occupancy is obtained, the license will be issued.

Prior to submittal, ensure you comply with multiple interests and Distance Restrictions.

Distance Restrictions:

  • New Retail Liquor Stores (RLS) and Liquor Licensed Drug Stores (LLDS):   Must be at least 1,500 feet from another RLS or LLDS.  
  • New Fermented Malt Beverage (FMB) licenses:  Must be at least 500 feet from an RLS and 1,500 from an LLDS. 
  • New liquor licenses must be 500' feet from schools operating prior to October 31, 2018 unless the school signs a waiver.
  • There are no distance restrictions to schools that began operating after October 31, 2018.
  • State-only issued liquor licenses do not have a distance restriction (i.e., Breweries, Wineries, Distilleries)

Petitions:

Petitions must be filed with the Town Clerk prior to the Hearing to show the needs and desires of the neighborhood.  Approved petition companies:

  • Oedipus Inc., 303-661-0638
  • Liquor Licensing Professionals, 719-390-8844, email
  • Esquire Petitioning Services, 303-331-8600, email

Submit to the Town Clerk:

Background investigations are required for each officer of the business and the operating manager, and they must submit:

Must use Codes below depending on which service you use:
Colorado Fingerprinting - use CBI Unique ID #5026LLQH  
Identogo - use Service Code 25YQ6K, CBI Account CONCJ5026 

  • Diagram 8 1/2" x 11" of Licensed Premise marked as follows:

    • All levels, if applicable
    • Dimensions
    • Exits
    • Kitchen area
    • Liquor storage area
    • Outdoor areas including fences, etc.
    • Outline entire area that is to be licensed in BOLD
  • Certification that all servers have completed TIPS training (list of trainers)
  • Local fees payable to Town of Castle Rock - may be paid online Pay Online Logo2
    • Application fee (see below)
    • $75 for operating manager (if not owner)
  • State fees payable to the Colorado Department of Revenue
    • Application fee (see below)
    • $75 for operating manager (if not owner)
    • $100 if you request a Concurrent Review (state begins reviewing during 30 day waiting period)

Due 5 Days prior to the Hearing:

  • Petition and report for the district in which the business is located 

Master files

If this is a Master File, submit a letter from the State that confirms your Master File. If you have a Master File and have already submitted fingerprints to the State, you do not need to submit fingerprints or the fingerprint fee to the Town Clerk's Office. 

Upon approval by the State and confirmation of a certificate of occupancy, a license will be issued.
 

New application fee (includes application and license fees)

 

Town of Castle Rock Pay Online Logo2 Colorado Department of Revenue

Concurrent Review by State 

 

$100.00 in addition to fees below

Art Gallery Permit 

$103.75

$71.25 

Art License

$1,041.25

$908.75

Beer and Wine License

$1,048.75

$901.25 

Brew-Pub License

$1,075.00

$1,300.00 

Club License

$1,041.25

$858.75 

Hotel and Restaurant License

$1,075.00

$1,050.00 

Liquor Licensed Drugstore
Manager Permit Registration

Additional Liquor Licensed Drugstore

$1,022.50


$1,022.50

$777.50 
$100.00

$977.50 

Lodging & Entertainment License

$1,075.00

$1050.00 

Fermented Malt Beverage License

$1,003.75

$646.25 

Retail Liquor Store License

$1,022.50

$777.50 

Tavern License

$1,075.00

$1,050.00 

There are several other licenses not listed, as we do not currently have these in Castle Rock:  Campus Liquor Complex, Distillery Pub, Optional Premise, Racetrack, Resort Complex, Retail Gaming Tavern, and Vinters Restaurant.

Note:  Importer, Manufacturer, and Wholesaler licenses are licensed only through the State.


  1. Renew
  2. Changes
  3. Special Events
  4. Tastings
  5. Transfer

License Renewals

60 days prior to expiration - submit to Town Clerk:

Manager Permit renewals for Liquor Licensed Drugstores

60 days prior to expiration - submit to the Town Clerk

  • Application and write "RENEW" at the top of the form
  • Check to the Colorado Department of Revenue for $100

Note: If you have any changes to the manager, premise, ownership, etc., see information under the "Changes" tab and submit the appropriate documents and fees.

Renewal fees (includes renewal and license fees)  


  Town of Castle Rock 
Pay Online Logo2
Colorado Department of Revenue
Art License $141.25 $308.75
Beer and Wine License $148.75 $351.25
Brew-Pub License $175.00 $750.00
Club License $141.25 $308.75
Hotel & Restaurant License
Hotel & Restaurant with One Optional Premise
$175.00 $500.00
$600.00
Liquor Licensed Drugstore $122.50 $227.50
Lodging & Entertainment License $175.00 $500.00
Fermented Malt Beverage License $103.75 $96.25 
Retail Liquor Store License $122.50 $227.50
Tavern License $175.00 $500.00
Late Renewal before 90 days past due $500.00 $500.00
Reissue Fee (90-180 days past due) $500.00 $500.00
Application Reissue Fine $25/day beyond 90 days $25/day beyond 90 days